Windows Mobile 6 on HTC TyTN

                                                                                                                     HTC TyTN 

I’ve been a proud owner of a HTC TyTN (or a few other names like HTC P4500 / HTC Z / Qtek 9600 / Dopod 838 Pro / Dopod CHT9000 / i-mate JASJAM / O2 Xda Trion / T-Mobile MDA Vario II / Vodafone VPA Compact III / Vodafone v1605 / SFR v1605 / Orange SPV M3100 / AT&T 8525 / Cingular 8525 / Swisscom XPA v1605 / SoftBank X01HT, phew… that was a mouthful. Why the hell do carrier love giving same thing different names?!?!?!?!!!!!) for a while now.

UX aside, it has been a great piece of technology companion funtionality wise. But since WM6 came out, I’ve been itching for the Windows Mobile 6 goodness… Without having to set myself back for another grand and a half for a TyTN II, I decided to flash my TyTN ROM for the better.

If you ever wanted to do ANYTHING with your TyTN, this and this are where you want to start looking at.

If you ever wanted to flash your TyTN for WM6. Here are some points;

1. ALWAYS ALWAYS flash your TyTN with the hardSPL or you’d be running the risk of bricking it (Making it unbootable). This page explains why and how you do it.

2. Safest to go with a mainstream image, simply because it’d extensively tested and used => Less likely to brick your unit and more community support if something does happen. Schaps ROMs are fairly popular out there. Here is a list of the ROMs and here are step by step instructions on how not to brick it.

3. If you had gone with Schaps WM6 Pro [Multilingual], there might be a bit of a catcha that wasn’t explained in the instructions. When you come to upgrade your radio, you were asked to select auto detect the boot loader. For me, it would always error on my saying “Error, unknown version! You should pick SSPL”. All you need to do here is go with “Force using SSPL” and Next from there. You should be good as gold ONLY after you’ve flashed the hardSPL PRIOR to this step… The same thing happened to me when I came to upgrade to WM6 as well, the same answer applies there.

4. Did I say if you were using VISTA, there is a bit a prep work to do prior to all of the above… 

 The entire process was painless and took me about 2 hours (This includes cooking up a massive pot of pasta which is my next week’s food supply :0) And there I was, away laughing…

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chris on April 3, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Hi Sun. Where did you get your HTC Tytn? Did you import it?

    Reply

  2. Hey Chris. How is Nelson? That’s where you headed to right?

    I had my under age cousins in China slaving away in a sweat shop assembled it for me. :p

    Nah, I bought mine from a parallel import shop from New Market in Auckland. It’s called eTown here is the link http://www.etown.co.nz/store/index.asp

    Reply

  3. Posted by Chris on April 8, 2008 at 2:57 am

    Hi Sun. Nelson is all good, can’t beat the weather! Thanks for that, been thinking about a new device, but may wait now as 6.1 is on it’s way…

    Reply

  4. [...] to my HTC TyTN A few weeks after I successfully upgraded my TyTN to MW6 and fully expected another couple of years of life out of it… I have now parted with my [...]

    Reply

  5. On the flip side, if you buy only inch granite and use
    a laminated edge to make it go together with branding,” said Zhang. If you have been putting off, don’t just look at the money sitting in their emergency fund and decide to include it in their remodel jack and jill bathrooming budget.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

